On March 15, 1962, US President John F Kennedy made a historical speech about consumer rights as he introduced 'The Consumer Bill of Rights' in the US Congress. Ever since, countries all over the world have celebrated March 15 as the Consumers’ Day. However, in India December 24 is celebrated as the National Consumer Day since the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 was enacted on this day by the Indian Parliament


Member :

Telecom Advisory Committee

Member :

Standing Committee Ministry of Textiles, Government Of India

Member :

Consumer Coordination Council, New Delhi

Member :

Divisional Railway Users Consultative Committee

Former Member :

Central Consumer Protection Council, GOI




The Consumer movement was founded in 1974 by Dr.Rajiv Taranath, Dinamalar Shri.R.Krishnamurthy, Shri.M.Meeenakshi Sundaram and Shri S.Pushpavanam. Originally it functioned in the name of consumer council. In 1979, it was registered as a Voluntary Consumer Organization - Consumer Protection Council. The Council is registered as a society under Society's Registration Act and also under Monopolies  and Restrictive Practices Commission New Delhi. It has 14 branches all over Tamil Nadu. The First State Level conference of consumer activists organized in 1987 by this Council led to the spread of the movement in Tamil Nadu.

Break Monopoly on Tracks

- Economic Times dated 02 Dec, 2011

Parking Scam Surfaces in Trichy Railway Station

Establishment, Contractor offer Mere Apology for 'Lapse'

- Times Of India dated 19 Sep, 2011


2011, June - SASTRA directed to return certificate, fee to student.

2011, Jan - Air India to pay Rs.10,000

..........archive of earlier judgements



LPG Refineries launch Transperancy Portal

Consumers can now view their LPG consumption details online. All three Oil Sector PSU's have made records available of all cylinders sold to the130-million subscriber base since June on their transperancy portal. The Portal Adresses are as below

Indan - IOC
Bharat Gas -BPCL

TamilNadu Electricity Board goes online

The TamilNadu Electricity Board now offers the following facilities on their website


You can pay your bill online; and avoid standing in queues
You can view your bills along with detailed meter readings since 2007.

You receive email alerts detailing your metr reading and date of payment

You can add multiple service numbers to a single login.

..........more egovernance initiatives


Head Office :

#7, 12th Cross

Kumaran nagar

TRICHY - 620 017.

For contact details, click here


Aadhaar is a 12 digit individual identification number issued by the Unique Identification Authority of India on behalf of the Government of India.


How to File A Complaint


Welcome Visitor


hits counter

Domain Owner

S Pushpavanam

Domain Host

Aalphanet, Madurai

Disclaimer  Privacy Policy  Website Usage Agreement